Poopy Diapers Everywhere!

I just wanted to take a moment and announce the arrival of Little Random Guy.  He was born on December 2, so he’ll be a little over two weeks old at the time of this post.  Thankfully everything went well with the delivery and Random Gal and LRG are both recovering nicely.

Being a new (and first-time) parent is hard work, as I’m sure all of the parents out there already know.  The first few days in particular were pretty difficult.  I think I got about 1-2 hours of sleep total in the first two days.  I haven’t been that sleep deprived since residency!  Things have gotten better, though, now that we’ve figured out a routine for taking care of him.  Now at least we’re able to get more rest, and I’ve actually found some time to blog again.

Overall it’s been a great experience.  Sure there have been some downs, but there have been a lot more ups (kind of like the stock market).  Financial tie-in right there!  LRG already has some favorite games that he likes to play.  One game is something I call “The Possum.”  He plays this game after he’s been fed, changed, and is being put down for a nap.  He’ll be laying in our arms/lap with his eyes closed, looking comfortable and as if he’s fallen asleep.  I then go to put him down in his bassinet at which point he says, “Just kidding!” and opens his eyes, smirks a bit, and starts throwing a hissy fit.  He does this pretty regularly.  I think he’s just trying to troll me.

Another game he likes to play is something I call “The Counterattack.”  This usually occurs after feedings.  It goes a little something like this.  I’ll wake him up to feed him and check his diaper.  If it’s really soaked or dirty I’ll change it right away.  If not, I’ll go ahead and start feeding him.  Usually by the end of the feeding he’ll have soaked his diaper.  Sometimes he’ll poop during the feed or right after as well.  If he doesn’t poop right away, I’ll usually give him about 15-20 minutes to handle his business.  If he hasn’t pooped by then and is starting to fall asleep, I’ll quickly change his diaper before settling him down.  It’s at that point when he unleashes his counterattack and poops in the brand new, clean diaper.  I give it a minute because there might be more coming.  If I feel that the attack is over, I’ll change him again.  He’ll then unleash a second barrage and we’re back to square one.  Again, I think he’s trying to troll me.

All joking aside it’s been a great experience, save for the first few days of sleep deprivation and exhaustion.  Time does fly by as he’s already two weeks old.  Pretty soon he’ll be a month, then six months, then one year!!  Anyways, thanks for reading this Random post.  Nothing too financial here, although I did make a reference to the stock market!

10 thoughts on “Poopy Diapers Everywhere!

  1. Congrats on the new baby!!! I remember bring my son home from the hospital and thinking where are the instructions. We got lucky that he was a super easy baby and he just turned one. So you have so much to look forward to. Enjoy your time with the baby!!!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, unfortunately instructions weren’t included. But so far it’s been a great experience, especially since mother and baby are both healthy. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats! Some close friends of mine just had their first baby about 9 months ago and they said the sleep schedule was the hardest part!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yeah the sleep schedule kind of sucks right now. Up every three hours essentially, but my wife and I switch off so we can get more rest in between feedings and diaper changes. Thanks for stopping by!!

      Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by! He’s an interesting one I’ll give you that. When he gets old enough, I’ll come back and have him read this post. Haha!!

      Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, PoF! It’s been quite a ride these past few weeks, but I’m definitely cherishing every moment that I can. Merry Christmas to you and your family as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment